About Us

Our mission is fostering art and culture in Acadiana.

“Our organization grows with the region, and our mission continually unfolds as we strive to foster arts and culture in Acadiana.” —Samuel Oliver, AcA Executive Director

Founded in 1975, Acadiana Center for the Arts (“AcA”) is a community-supported nonprofit organization that fosters art and culture in Acadiana. Since its founding, AcA has developed as a major force, shaping the future of public education and community development in South Louisiana.

AcA supports the creation of new works of art, exhibits, festivals, performances, and public art across an eight-parish region that includes Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion Parishes. 

AcA aims to bring equitable access to the arts and supports fair compensation of artists. On average, AcA serves over 300,000 people annually and provides fair compensation to 2,700 artists. 

In 2015, the AcA merged with the Performing Arts Society of Acadiana (“PASA”), whose mission was to educate, inspire, entertain, and culturally enrich the people of south Louisiana by providing local access to a diverse range of the performing arts. This merger supported the vision of both organizations and provided much-needed support to PASA’s programs. Founded in 1989, PASA had served as a leading voice in the performing arts in South Louisiana for close to three decades under the leadership of Artistic Director Jackie Lyle.

 

Staff

Bree Sargent, Education Director
bree@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Clayton Shelvin, Performing Arts Director
clayton@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Connie Petro, Office Manager
connie@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Essie King, Digital Marketing Coordinator
essie@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Gwen Richard, Community Development Director
gwen@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Jaik Faulk, Visual Arts Director
jaik@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Julia Barry, Education Coordinator
julia@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Justin Hunter, Technical Director
justin@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Kali Lewis, Marketing Intern
kali@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Kierra Kemper, CD Assistant
cdgrants@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Maggie Martin, Assistant Technical Director
maggie@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Mark Ackal, Bar Manager
mark@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Michelle Accurso, General Manager
michelle@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Mike Drennan, Facility Engineer
facilitymanager@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Natasha Hymel, Café Manager
cafe@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Paige Krause, Outreach Director
paige@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Samuel Oliver, Executive Director
sam@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Savannah Tassin, Development Coordinator
membership@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Vicki Chrisman, Bookkeeper
vicki@acadianacenterforthearts.org

BOARD of Directors

Officers
Dan Hare, President
Lyle Girouard, President Elect
Olivia Regard, Immediate Past President
Matt Dugas, Treasurer
Sarah Roy, Secretary

Board of Directors
Austin M. Shumaker
Owner/CEO, Louisiana Home Lending

Burnell Lemoine
Former Superintendent, Lafayette Parish School System

Charles Boudreaux
Partner, Jones Walker, LLP

Cliff LaCour
Partner, NeunerPate

Dan Hare
Senior Director of Facilities and Special Events, University of Louisiana Lafayette

Danny Domingue, DDS
Drs. Smith and Domingue

Daphne Krampe
Administrator, MacLaff Inc.

Dr. Annie Wingate Spell
Partner, Tides Medical; Psychologist

J’annine Sullivan
Partner, Senior Helpers

John N. Chappuis
Attorney, Voorhies & Labbé

John Mouton
Attorney

Johnathan Williams
Owner, Quality of Life Services; Executive Director, Upper Lafayette Economic Development Foundation

Karen deClouet
Artist

Katie Bernhardt

Lyle Girouard

Mary B. Neiheisel, Ed.D.
Chair & Professor of Nursing, University of Louisiana Lafayette

Matt Dugas
Director of Finance, Lafayette Parish School System

Michael Munzing
Residential and Commercial Agent, SUNUP Insurance Services

Olivia Regard Division
Assistant Vice President, Compliance Counsel; Arthur J. Gallagher

Philip Gould
Photographer

Richard Brauns
Senior Partner, JKR Advertising & Marketing

Ronnie Daigle, MD
Physician

Sadie Shamsie
President/Owner, Standard Title

Sarah Roy
Talented Teacher, Lafayette Parish School System; Director, Theatre Acadie

Taylor Davis
Northwestern Mutual

Acadiana Center for the Arts © 2019. All Rights Reserved