About Us

Our mission is fostering art and culture in Acadiana.

Founded in 1975, Acadiana Center for the Arts (“AcA”) is a community-supported nonprofit organization that fosters art and culture in Acadiana. Since its founding, AcA has developed as a major force, shaping the future of public education and community development in South Louisiana.

AcA supports the creation of new works of art, exhibits, festivals, performances, and public art across an eight-parish region that includes Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion Parishes. 

AcA aims to bring equitable access to the arts and supports fair compensation of artists. On average, AcA serves over 300,000 people annually and provides fair compensation to 2,700 artists. 

In 2013, the AcA merged with the Performing Arts Society of Acadiana (“PASA”), whose mission was to educate, inspire, entertain, and culturally enrich the people of south Louisiana by providing local access to a diverse range of the performing arts. This merger supported the vision of both organizations and provided much-needed support to PASA’s programs. Founded in 1989, PASA served as a leading voice in the performing arts in South Louisiana for close to three decades.

 

Samuel Oliver, AcA Executive Director

Staff

Samuel Oliver, Executive Director

Program Staff

Aaron Briley, Performing Arts Coordinator
aaron@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Aaron Thomas, Production Manager
aaront@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Bethany Lejune, Preparator
bethany@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Bree Sargent, Education Director
bree@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Gwen Richard, Community Development Director
gwen@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Jaik Faulk, Visual Arts Director
jaik@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Kierra Kemper, Community Development Assistant

Operations Staff

Connie Petro, Office Manager
connie@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Emily Ponti, General Manager
emily@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Mark Ackal, Bar Manager
mark@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Jay Tetnowski, Production Assistant
jay@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Mike Drennan, Facility Engineer
facilitymanager@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Vicki Chrisman, Bookkeeper

Fundraising & Marketing

Nancy Surosky, Donor Relations Officer
nancy@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Corinne Sprague, Development Coordinator corinne@acadianacenterforthearts.org

Rachel Adams, Marketing Manager rachel@acadianacenterforthearts.org

BOARD of Directors

2020-2021
Board of Directors

Katie Bernhardt 
Strategic Development, Standard Law

Charles  Boudreaux 
Partner, Kean Miller LLP

Richard Brauns 
Senior Partner, JKR Advertising & Marketing

John N. Chappuis 
Attorney; Voorhies & Labbé

Ronnie Daigle, MD
Physician

Taylor Davis
Northwestern Mutual

Karen deClouet 
Artist

Danny Domingue, DDS 
Drs. Smith and Domingue

Kenneth Douet 
Retired Principal, Lafayette Parish School System

Matthew Dugas 
Director of Finance, Lafayette Parish School System

Lyle Girouard 

Dan Hare 
Senior Director of Facilities and Special Events, University of Louisiana Lafayette

Robert John, Jr. 
Partner, J&J Exterminating

Aleisha Johnson, MBA 
Our Lady of the Lakes Hospital

Brandon “DJ Digital” Journet 
Performing Artist; Host, XXL Higher Level Radio, Townsquare Media

Daphne Krampe 
Administrator, MacLaff Inc.

Cliff LaCour 
Partner, NeunerPate

Burnell Lemoine 
Retired Superintendent, Lafayette Parish School System

Hannah Smith Mason 
Artist; Community Outreach and Business Development, Smith Mason & Co.

Michael Munzing 
Residential and Commercial Agent, BBC Insurance Services

Dr. Mary B. Neiheisel 
Professor of Nursing, University of Louisiana Lafayette

Olivia Smith Regard 
Division Assistant Vice President, Compliance Counsel; Arthur J. Gallagher

Sarah Gauthier Roy 
Talented Teacher, Lafayette Parish School System; Director, Theatre Acadie

Sadie Shamsie
President/Owner, Standard Title

Austin M. Shumaker 
Owner/CEO, Louisiana Home Lending

Dr. Annie  Wingate Spell 
Psychologist; Partner, Tides Medical

J’annine Sullivan 
Partner, Senior Helpers

Marshal Reggie Thomas 
Lafayette City Marshal; Deacon, St. James Baptist Church

Johnathan Williams 
Owner, Quality of Life Services; Executive Director, Upper Lafayette Economic Development Foundation

2020-2021
Board Officers

Lyle Girouard
President

Ronnie Daigle, MD
President-Elect

Dan Hare
Immediate Past President

Cliff LaCour
Treasurer

Dr. Mary B. Neiheisel
Secretary